http://www.puydufou.com/en - theme park featuring many periods in history such as Vikings, Gladiators, Musketeers, along with battle re-enactments, how people lived at that time in history, etc.
http://www.zoo-palmyre.com/index_flash.html - Palmyre Zoo, on the Atlantic Coast, between Royan and Rochefort
http://www.ileauxserpents.com/pres_an.php - The Snakes' Island - a collection of various reptiles living in their natural environment
http://www.geantsduciel.com - Giants of the Sky - birds from all over the world show off their particular skills
http://www.aquarium-larochelle.com/ - Aquarium at La Rochelle
http://www.aquarium-larochelle.com/ - Aquarium at La Rochelle
http://uk.futuroscope.com - a futuristic theme park in Poitiers
http://uk.franceguide.com/ - the official website of the French Government Tourist Office
Fun for everyone, emotions to share with his family...
Information for Families
Federation des Parcs naturels... NORMANDY
La Fosse De Tigne
Les Beauliers, 49540, La Fosse De Tigne, Maine Et Loire, France, 0033 (0)241 679210
Introduction to the history of the camp
On 21 April 1941, near the village of Struthof, the Nazis opened a concentration camp, KL-Natzweiler.
The central camp, the only concentration camp in France, was located in the then annexed Alsace département. Its annexes, scattered over the 2 sides of the Rhine, made up a network of nearly 70 camps, more or less large. Of the nearly 52,000 detainees of KL-Natzeiler, about 35,000 did not go through the central camp.
A labour camp supporting the Nazi war industry, it was also used for medical experiments by Nazi professors from the Reich University of Strasbourg.
On 23 November 1944, the Allies discovered the site evacuated by the Nazis since September. Some deportees from the camp annexes had their sufferings prolonged in the spring of 1945 on the "Death Marches".
On March 22, 1933, a few weeks after Adolf Hitler had been appointed Reich Chancellor, a concentration camp for political prisoners was set up in Dachau. This camp served as a model for all later concentration camps and as a "school of violence" for the SS men under whose command it stood. In the twelve years of its existence over 200.000 persons from all over Europe were imprisoned here and in the numerous subsidary camps. More than 43.000 died. On April 29 1945, American troops liberated the survivors.
The Memorial Site on the grounds of the former concentration camp was established in 1965 on the initiative of and in accordance with the plans of the surviving prisoners who had joined together fo form the Comité International de Dachau. The Bavarian state government provided financial support. Between 1996 and 2003 a new exhibition on the history of the Dachau concentration camp was created, following the leitmitof of the "Path of the Prisoners".
Gedenkstätte und Museum Sachsenhausen
On 21st March 1933, local SA stormtroopers took over a vacant factory building in the town centre of Oranienburg and set up the first concentration camp in the state of Prussia. Oranienburg Concentration Camp was a key site in the persecution of the opposition during the months after the National Socialists seized power,especially in the imperial capital, Berlin. In the aftermath of the "Röhn putsch" and the supression of the SA, the camp was taken over by the SS in Juli 1934 and closed down. Up to its closure on 13th July 1934, more than 3.000 people were imprisoned in Oranienburg Concentration Camp. At least sixteen prisoners were murdered by guards, among them the writer Erich Mühsam.
History of Mauthausen concentration camp
The Eagle's Nest
The Eagle's Nest was designed as a birthday present for Adolf Hitler's 50th birthday by Martin Bormann on behalf of the NSDAP (Nazi Party). Hitler in fact seldom visited the Eagle's Nest. The allied bombing of World War II did not damage the Eagle's Nest and thanks to the intervention of former Governor Jacob, the Eagle's Nest was spared being blown up after the war.
Today the Eagle's Nest remains in its original state. In 1960, on the occasion of the 150th celebration of Berchtesgaden's incorporation into Bavaria, the Bavarian government relinquished its control of the building to a trust that ensures that the proceeds are used for charitable purposes.
Salt Mine Berchtesgaden
Dressed in miner's clothing, the visitor enjoys rides on a train, a funicular, a raft and down slides through the Salt Mine in Berchtesgaden.
In former times only privileged dignitaries were allowed to visit Berchtesgaden's salt mines, in operation since 1517. Today, this fascinating underground world can be visited by all thanks to continuous guided tours. Dressed in miner's clothing, the visitor enjoys rides on a train, a funicular, a raft and down slides! They also learn about mining history and techniques thanks to a new film featuring our mascot "Pauli" and numerous exhibits with a recorded commentary.
New: mystical "light and sound" show & "rock-blasting" on the way out
Don't miss this unique opportunity to experience more than just another tourist attraction: mining and exporting the "white gold" was the focal point of regional economy, technological progress and international politics.
You have an ideal starting- point from here for all your excursions and activity in your holidays. Extensive walking and marking trails directly from this place.
In the summer: walking- tours, biking, riding, table-tennis, tennis. Squash, supermarket in 500m. Ice skating-hall and (experience-) swimming-bath in 9km. Natural swimming-pool in 4km.
The Original Sound of Music Tour
Deep down underneath the 'Salzberg' mountain a secret world awaits your discovery. For many years, only the salt miners in Berchtesgaden were allowed to enter the complex tunnel system. Today, part of the mine - which has been in operation for over 500 years now - is open to all fans of adventure who wish to get to know the place where the famous Bad Reichenhall brand salt originates. Salt is an indispensable part of our lives
Known as Le Struthof to the French, this was a Nazi concentration camp, located in the Vosges mountains in Alsace. It was a prison for Resistance fighters from Norway, Belgium, Holland, Poland, and France. General Charles Delestraint, leader of the Secret Army of the French Resistance, was an inmate here.
World War II began in Europe on September 1,1939, with Germany's invasion of Poland. Nazi policy against the Jews, limited to the isolation and forced immigration of German Jews, now took a new and furious turn.
On July 31, 1941, Marshal Hermann Goering authorized SS Gruppenfuehrer and Chief of the German Security Forces, Reinhard Heydrich, to finalize preparations for the exterminations:
"...I hereby commission you to carry out all necessary preparation with regard to organizational, substantiative and financial viewpoints for a total solution of the Jewish question in the German sphere of influence in Europe. Insofar as the competencies of other central organizations are hereby affected, these are to be involved."
Chelmno - Death Camp for Total Extermination
The museum has two departments:
1. The Rzuchów forest - the cemetery grounds, the monument, the Remembrance Wall, commemorative plaques, the lapidarium, the museum pavilion
2. The ruins of the palace and the area of archeological research in Chelmno.
The key mission of the Terezin Memorial, the only institution of its kind in the Czech Republic, is to commemorate the victims of the Nazi political and racial persecution during the occupation of the Czech lands in World War II, to promote museum, research and educational activities, and look after the memorial sites connected with the suffering and death of dozens of thousands of victims of violence.